Raiders gun for Shrine Bowl team

Contributed by Jimmy McDonald Richmond Senior running back Quientel Goodwin, center, and wide receiver Lavell Ellerbe, right, participated in Saturday’s Shrine Bowl combine at Scotland High School.

ROCKINGHAM — Seven members of the Richmond Senior football team ventured to Scotland High School Saturday morning for the final Shrine Bowl combine.

Making the 21-mile drive were: running back Quientel Goodwin, defensive backs Willie Bennett and Jaelin Beugre, defensive lineman Ricardo Rush, offensive lineman Blake Dawkins, linebacker Devon Hunt and wide receiver Lavell Ellerbe.

Goodwin rushed for 1,258 yards and 13 touchdowns last season as a junior.

Bennett and Beugre recorded three and 89 tackles, respectively, last year. Beugre had two interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Rush was credited with 19 tackles as a junior.

Dawkins served as the team’s center and long snapper as well as playing some defensive line. Dawkins notched six tackles.

Hunt finished his junior season with 67 tackles and an interception.

Ellerbe recorded a team-leading 16 catches for 232 yards. He finished with two touchdowns.

There were another 12 players with Southeastern Conference ties at the combine.

Offensive lineman Pete Townsend was the lone Lumberton player.

Purnell Swett had two representatives — wide receivers Dakota Brooks and Luke Brooks.

Hoke had two offensive players in attendance — running back Jacob Rushing and wide receiver Brandon Smith — as well as defensive lineman Jayquan Cowan.

There were six Scotland players trying for a spot on the squad. Offensive linemen Jquan Breeden and Timon McMillan, quarterback Dashaun Ferguson, defensive lineman Mazani Stubbs, linebacker Jonathan Smith and defensive back Trevon Gibson were among the 81 attendees.

Two Anson players — defensive lineman Timothy Horne and offensive lineman Dillian Wessels — participated in an earlier combine. Lumberton offensive lineman Jesse Oliver also attended a different combine.

The other four combines were held at South Johnston (March), Eastern Alamance (April), Rocky River (May) and A.C. Reynolds (May). The North Carolina team will be led by John Kirby, head coach at Eastern Alamance. He will be assisted by New Bern’s Bobby Curlings, Hillside’s Antonio King, Randleman’s Shane Handy, North Davidson’s Mark Holcomb, Mount Airy’s Kelly Holder and Asheville’s Charlie Metcalf.

Wayne Green from Berea will led the South Carolina squad. Mid-Carolina’s Louie Alexander, Greer’s Wil Young, Bamberg-Ernhardt’s Kevin Crosby, Wando’s Jimmy Noonan, Lamar’s Don Poole and Timberland’s Bill Boroff will serve as assistants.

Last season, Richmond placed two players on the North Carolina Shrine Bowl team — Kevin Norton and Cyrus Stanback. Only Stanback participated in the contest because Norton was forced to pull out after being injured during one of the team’s practices.

Norton signed with Catawba and Stanback inked a letter of intent with North Carolina Central.

Reach managing editor Shawn Stinson at 910-817-2671 and follow him on Twitter @scgolfer.