Hamilton dominates IDBL World Finals

By: For the Daily Journal

ROCKINGHAM — The only thing able to stop an indomitable Dale Hamilton (Mount Airy, Md.) during the International Drag Bike League World Finals was the Sunday night fog, as it obscured the Christmas Tree starting system and forced the cancelation of the final seven races of the show.

Hamilton was one of four two-wheel bracket racers still in contention for a $10,000 winner’s purse in Sunday’s feature event when the weather intervened. As a result, he had to split the winner, runner-up and semifinal money with three others including his brother Kevin Hamilton (Mount Airy, Md.), Matt Davies (Petersburg, Va.) and Luis Reyes (San Juan, Puerto Rico).

Otherwise, it was all Dale Hamilton-all-the-time at Rockingham Dragway. The Maryland rider won Pro ET on Friday, won Pro ET on Saturday and won the Pro ET Tournament of Champions on Sunday. That, coupled with his performance in the $10,000 race, would have undoubtedly earned him the MVP award.

A total of 407 bikes raced in the event, 150 of them in the $10,000 ET Showdown.

Other winners included Ehren Litten (Louisburg), many-time MIRock Superbike Champion Rodney Williford (Rougemont), Boo Brown (Potomac, Md.) and Jeremy Teaslay (Columbus, Ohio).

Litten won Sunday’s Pro Strett title a day after Williford prevailed in the same race, Brown won the 4.60 class by beating Tim Shelton (Hardy, Va.) in the Sunday final, and Teasley — the most successful rider in Rockingham history — won the 5.6o index class.

Although Anibal Merced (Concord) won Real Street, “Super Dave” Stewart (Mooresville) came away with a national record in the class at 7.705 seconds.

Dustin Lee (Morristown, Tenn.) and James Farmer (Ellendale, Del.) were the winners in the Street ET Tournament of Champions and Top Sportsman, respectively, while Stephen Knight (Durham) was among the Street ET winners.

Results from the International Drag Bike League World Finals completed Sunday at Rockingham Dragway (Results include reaction time, track time, target time when applicable and finish line speed):


ET Showdown Semfinals — Racing suspended due to fog. Dale Hamilton, Matt Davies, Kevin Hamilton and Luis Reyes split the semifinal, runner-up and winner’s purse.

Pro Street Final — Ehren Litten (.074, 6.937, 208.39 mph) def. Jeremy Teasley (.087, 8.524, 121.97 mph).

4.60 target Final — Boo Brown (.033, 4.661, 139.67 mph) def. Tim Shelton (.029, 4.728, 147.13 mph).

5.60 target Final — Jeremy Teasley (.006, 5.635, 125.73 mph) def. Dave Cornnell (.051, 5.561 breakout, 125.56 mph).

Pro ET Final — Dale Hamilton (.015, 8.607 on an 8.540, 152.06 mph) def. Derrick Milbourne (.064, 8.900 on an 8.860, 151.71 mph).

Street ET Final — Dustin Lee (.026, 8.779 on an 8.780, 152.14 mph) def. Darrell Mahoney (foul).

Crazy Eights Final — Racing suspended due to fog. Jeremy Teasley and Courtland Whiting split the winner and runner-up money.

Steet ET Semifinals — Racing suspended due to fog. Ben Knight, Wes Brown and Derrick Milbourne split the semifinal, runner-up and winner’s purse.


Pro Street Final — Rodney Williford (.040, 14.016, 55.03 mph) def. Frankie Stotz (foul).

Real Street Final — Anibal Merced (.094, 7.931, 186.43 mph) def. Eddie Chapman (.135, 7.999, 191.24 mph).

Top Sportsman Final — James Farmer (.031, 8.416 on an 8.410, 148.30 mph) def. Dustin Lee (.035, 8.208 on an 8.200, 177.88 mph).

Pro ET Final — Dale Hamilton (.012, 9.402 on a 9.370, 135.78 mph) def. Stanley Russell (.044, 9.833 on a 9.760, 136.63 mph).

Street ET Final — Stephen Knight (.005, 9.136 on a 9.120, 134.85 mph) def. Wes Brown (.005, 8.848 breakout on an 8.870, 149.65 mph).


Pro ET Final — Dale Hamilton (.024, 8.557 on an 8.560, 159.66 mph) def. Kevin Adams (.066, 8.602 breakout on an 8.650, 160.02 mph).

Street ET Final — Mike Schulz (.046, 8.904 on an 8.890, 150.61 mph) def. Kevin Adams (.067, 9.147 breakout on a 9.160, 141.31 mph).


For the Daily Journal