Jones first to file for Hoffman seat

By: By William R. Toler - [email protected]

By William R. Toler

[email protected]

ROCKINGHAM — Since election filing began last week, Hoffman stood alone as the only municipality without any candidates — until Tuesday.

Sitting Councilman Rory Kevin Jones became the first from the town to file for office.

Every seat in Hoffman is up for re-election, including that of Mayor Tommy Hart, who has yet to file. Neither have the other four council members — Ricarrdo Anderson, Althea Sloan Cobb, Daniel Kelly and Cynthia Northcutt — or anyone else, for that matter.

Those elected in Hoffman serve two-year terms.

Aside from Hart, Norman Mayor Kenneth Broadway has not yet thrown his hat in the ring.

However, all three sitting council members in that town — Stephen Cranford, Tonia Collins and Cynthia Watkins — have filed.

In Dobbins Heights, two-term mayor Antonio Blue will face off against Ernest Lee Primus, who filed Monday.

With two seats opening on the council, currently held by Mary Anne Gibson and Gracie Jackson, there are so far three contenders: Gibson, Barbara Young and Eddie McRae.

The election in Dobbins Heights will be held in October.

Everyone on the Rockingham City Council — Mayor Steve Morris and council members Anne Edwards, Bennett Deane, Denise Sulivan and John Hutchinson — has already filed, with no competition.

Jeremy McKenzie, Lee Freeman and Elsie Freeman all are vying for one of the two seats up for grabs on the Ellerbe Town Council. One seat is currently occupied by John Sears Jr., the other is vacant. Mayor Lee Berry has also filed.

Wendy Massagee filed for a spot on Hamlet’s board, joining David H. Lindsey and current councilman Johnathan Buie — as well as Mayor Bill Bayless — in the race. There are three seats on that council to be filled, held by Buie, Tony Clewis and Pat Preslar.

Clewis told the Daily Journal last Thursday that he has not yet made a decision on whether to run. Preslar announced in late May that he would not be seeking re-election and was later named interim police chief in Mount Gilead.

Filing ends at noon on Friday.

Reach reporter William R. Toler at 910-817-2675 and follow him on Twitter @William_r_Toler.