Mason, Campbell join school board

By: By William R. Toler - Editor

ROCKINGHAM — The Richmond County Board of Education will soon welcome two newcomers.

Pat Campbell and Daryl Mason were both elected to the school board Tuesday, along with incumbents Joe Richardson and Bobbie Sue Ormsby.

Campbell, along with Ormsby and Mason (both longtime educators), watched as the precincts reported in at the Board of Elections office Tuesday evening.

Campbell said he was nervous to begin with, but was OK when the Rockingham votes came in. After that, he was “elated” and said he and his family were going out to Dairy Queen to celebrate.

“I’m excited (to try and make changes),” he said. “I tell them I’m coming in with a magnifying glass so I can scrutinize everything. It needs to be scrutinized.

“We need to get transparent,” he added. “There’s not enough transparency on that board … the public needs to know what’s taking place before it takes place.”

Ormsby, who led the lot with 18.5 percent of the vote, said she was looking forward to “work for the children.” She has been in education more than 35 years and will enter her second four-year term on the school board.

Mason said he thinks joining the board “is a great opportunity to continue to serve the people of Richmond County, the parents, the students … I’m ecstatic.”

In addition to being a physical education instructor and administrator, Mason served briefly on the Richmond County Board of Commissioners.

Richardson said he felt “honored that the people voted to put me back on the school board.”

“I will continue to advocate for students and teachers and do the best I can for the school system,” he said by phone.

Mason received 17 percent of the vote, followed by Richardson (16.4 percent) and Campbell (14.3 percent).

Incumbent Irene Aiken and challenger Statha Osborne both pulled in 13.6 percent and challenger J.L. McCullers garnered only 6.2 percent.

All votes are unofficial until canvassing on May 18.

Reach William R. Toler at 910-817-2675 or [email protected]
Incumbents Ormsby, Richardson re-elected

By William R. Toler